Saving Money on Snacks

DSC_2169

I hate opening crackers in the pantry because there is only so long that they can stay there until they go stale.

A lot of times I find something like Teddy Grahams on sale or my son’s favorite flavor of Cheeze-its on sale, but my kids don’t want to eat the whole box over the course of the week.  The opened bags though can lead to staleness.  That staleness results in me throwing the last quarter of the box away.  I mean who would eat mushy teddy grahams anyway?

In order to combat the nasty staleness of opened and forgotten crackers, I go through my cupboards before my grocery shopping day.  If I find a mostly eaten box of something, I get out sandwich bags and divide the crackers into 3 (if possible) bags.  Sometimes I find more than one box of crackers open and I will also add those to the sandwich bags.  This creates what we call in our house a “snack bag” and viola, afternoon snacks are made and stored in a place that I can quickly grab and go with them.

So why has this been helpful?

The zip-lock feature of those wonderful sandwich bags keeps the snacks fresher longer!  Which means less waste- and full value for the money I spent on that snack.  It also eliminates the stress of finding snack before soccer, dance or whatever.  Plus, I save because I am not buying ready packaged snacks!  We just create our own.  And when I am on top of keeping up on the snack shelf.  My life gets easier and I keep more $ in my pocket.

2 thoughts on “Saving Money on Snacks

  1. This is such a great idea! I’ve thought about making our own snack bags too. I think I’ll be giving this a try! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

